

## **MEDIA RELEASE**

3 August 2020

## Council's Audit Panel welcomes new members

The Huon Valley Council is pleased to announce the appointment of new Independent Members Mike Derbyshire and Cam Jones to the Council's Audit Panel, with Mike also holding the position of Panel Chairperson for a three-year term.

Mike is a chartered accountant with 24 years' experience in public practice, and is currently a registered company auditor and audit partner at Bentleys Tasmania. Mike brings a wealth of experience to the Council, with positions on the Bentleys Australia National Audit Technical Advisory Committee and National Risk & Assurance Technical Advisory Committee. Mike also has local government experience as a Council Audit Panel member and Chairperson, as well as being a member of the Tasmanian Auditor-General's external audit panel.

Cam is an experienced solicitor qualified in Tasmania and in England and Wales, and is a sole principal in his own legal practice, Cam Jones & Associates. Cam specialises in non-litigious corporate and commercial law, advising extensively in the areas of corporate governance, the conduct and responsibilities of office-holders, and local government contractual, compliance and governance issues.

Cam has been on a number of different boards in Australia during the past ten years, with a focus on financial, asset, risk-management and compliance issues. Cam is also on the register of persons to be appointed as members of the Review Panel under section 238 of the *Education Act 2016*.

"Mike and Cam bring with them a high level of experience, and we are confident in their ability to add value to the Council through their Audit Panel contributions," said Huon Valley Council Mayor Bec Enders. "We look forward to working with them in the coming years."

Cr Christine Campbell has also joined Deputy Mayor Doyle on the Panel as Councillor Member, replacing Cr Mick Newell who recently resigned from the Panel.

Council would like to once again thank outgoing members Alison Flakemore (Chair) and David Sales, who were members on the panel since its formation in 2015, and Cr Newell, who concluded his term on the panel in May 2020.

## For more information: Mayor Bec Enders (03) 6264 0300